“Alt for Norge (Norway)”-Drillos

July 27, 2010 at 8:28 am (Uncategorized)

The last few days have been a wonderful example of how my life gets in the way of blogging.  It was good, mainly seeing friends from out of town, and working on lines for acting class, (I also saw a wonderful production of the musical 1776 by Musical Theatre West!  But that might be saved for when I reach 1776 in 10 years or so) but it kept me on my toes and off the interwebs.

Tonight’s song is “Alt for Norge” by Drillos from the album Absolute Champions.

Most of the words are in Norwegian, and there are some words, including the The lyrics for this song, really make me think of a patriotic march, a war song, all about sacrifice.  It does mention “the whole game,” but it describes more than the strength of people, but a beautiful country, and Viking history as well.  From my very basic information (please note, I am not really researching things, if you, the reader have information please share it with me), I have conflicting information that is was a war song, or it was a song recorded by an ad hoc band for the the 1994 World Cup.  I personally, am leaning toward the second definition just from the melody.

This song does not sound like a Viking war song, not that I really can know what a Viking war song sounds like, but I don’t picture something like this.  This song does sound like a football (soccer) cheer song to me, especially the very beginning chant and what I’m going to call a wail.  There may be words, but I can’t understand them, and they don’t come up when I translate the song.  You can hear these things in the first 16 seconds in the video.

I’m not terribly fond of this song, I admit it.  I can’t remember why it’s on my iTunes, but I’m going to guess it had something to with Hetalia, which I love dearly.  I’m not a sports person, so since this sounds like a chant for a sporting event, I just don’t really care for it.  It’s not terrible.  It’s not fantastic.  One thing I will say, with the tune and Viking history definitely go beyond most football chants, and many college fight songs.

The whole English translation from Google is here.

Listen with me (also, the Norwegian lyrics are in the video):

Leave a Reply

